2023-24 CDO Board of Directors Executive Committee Election Results

Posted: July 12, 2023

Publié le 12 July 2023

Ann Watt, RD elected Chair, Board of Directors, College of Dietitians of Ontario

Ann Watt

CDO is pleased to announce the election of Ann Watt, RD as Chair of the College’s Board of Directors, and the election of the Executive Committee for 2023-24.

“This is a pivotal year for the College, as we look to fully implement the strategies that support the four goals of the 2020-25 Strategic Plan,” says Ann. “The Chair facilitates the work of the Board and ensures the quality of its governance. I’m looking forward to working with my colleagues to build upon our progress in governance modernization and other key initiatives.”

A dietitian with the Huron Perth Healthcare Alliance for 29 years, Ann is the Manager of the Huron Perth Diabetes Program, Clinical Nutrition, and Nutrition and Food Services. She holds a Bachelor of Applied Science in Nutrition from the University of Guelph and a Masters of Science degree from Brescia University College.

This is Ann’s second term on the Board. She was first elected in 2019 and has served on several committees, including Discipline/Fitness to Practice; Inquiries, Complaints and Reports (ICRC); and Professional Practice. Ann is also a volunteer in her community and serves as a Director on the Board of The Local Community Food Center in Stratford.

“Serving on the Board has been a valuable experience and I’m very proud of the work the Board does in the name of public protection,” says Ann. “The Board sets the strategic direction of the College and works to ensure that the public is served by dietitians who are committed to delivering safe, ethical and competent dietetic services.”

Announcing the 2023-24 Executive Committee
The members of the newly elected Executive Committee are:
Ann Watt, RD – Chair
Denis Tsang, RD – Vice-Chair
Anahita Djalilvand, RD – Elected Member
Santhikumar Chandrasekharan – Public Member

The Board of Directors is currently composed of 13 members: eight councillors who are Registered Dietitians elected by registrants of the College and five public councillors approved by Order in Council. Together, they set the direction for the College's work and make decisions in the best interest of the public.

To learn more, visit the CDO Council section of our website.